About the Commission

The Wetumpka Planning Commission was created by an ordinance of the City Council on April 20, 1950. The Commission is responsible for preparing a plan for the city, adopting regulations concerning the subdivision of land and standards for required infrastructure improvements, and advising the City Council on zoning districts and the permitting of conditional uses.

The first work of the Commission included signing a contract with the State Planning Board for assistance in completing a study of major streets, traffic, and preparation of subdivision regulations. According to Elizabeth Porter's A History of Wetumpka, Mrs. W.A. Edwards had the honor of being the first woman in the State of Alabama to be chairman of a municipal planning commission.

The current members of the planning commission are:

  • Ms. Katherine Lynn, chairman 
  • Mr. Ed Dykes, vice-chairman 
  • Councilman Percy Gill
  • Mr. Johan Beumer
  • Mr. Justin Edwards
  • Ms. Mary Katherine Moore
  • Mr. David Robison
  • Ms. Betsy Sheldon